Tyre removal

Hi guys. We’re complete newbies and we’re having trouble removing tyres. We’re breaking the bead successfully using a bead breaker and removing the first part using tongs. The final part is just impossible, however. The tyres are on so tight it’s bending the tongs. These are VERY old tyres - is it possible that they’re so old and stiff that they’re impossible to remove?

The trick is making sure you create a pocket between the bead and the rim before pushing it out. If you don’t see the pocket, brute forcing it, tongue or no tongue, will do you no good. Whatever technique you are using, look for that pocket, if you can’t create one then work on the technique you are using.

That also assumes you are operating on the correct side of the rim and you freed up the bead on both sides so make sure of that too.

Have you watched any instructional video? If yes let us know where exactly you get stuck. If not we can point you towards few of them. Some rim/tire combos are harder than others, but not impossible

This was very helfull for me . Check this out .

2 Likes

Thanks guys. I’ll send photos later, but the key issue is I’ve broken the bead, used the tongues to take the tyre off the rim on the first (left) side, but it’s getting the tyre off on the final (right) side that is absolutely baffling me. I’m sure it is the correct side of the rim that I’m working on, but will check later.

A few ideas that may help…

Get the tires warm, leave them in the sun or even put them in a low oven.

Use something to lubricate the rim. I would start with soapy water. Usually, spray lubricants are not recommended but for removal may work. There are products that your auto parts store may have as well, I am fond of one called RuGlyde.

1 Like

Can’t have too much lube, and heat them up in the oven.

Are you working on the correct side of the wheel, this video explains why it is important to remove the tire from a specific side of the wheel first.

1 Like