Value of indoor kart racing as winter training tool?

I am new to proper two stroke kart racing and still under pretty steep learning curve. However cooler weather and shorter days has set in in Northeast and local kart track is two hours away so I am pretty much done for year.

So I am wondering if any value in spending time at local indoor kart track in the winter. Not exactly cheap to run laps at local track 3 session runs about 60$. The kart are typical rental units, track is ok but on concrete so karts have huge understeer and tire are pretty hard. Generally never really enjoyed these karts after I drove a proper kart. They just feel broken…

But I desperately need more seat time. Worth putting the money and miles in or just waste of time and should I wait for warmer weather.

1 Like

I am interested in the opinion of the more experienced guys as well. My gut tells me that it’s useful in that driving is driving, same principles apply.
That being said, the indoor karts at RPM in Jersey city are really heavy, and don’t really handle much like a racing kart.

I would imagine it’s way more useful to drive rental indoor karts from a learning perspective as compared to driving a sim, for example.

For those who race at K1 Speed or some other indoor facilities running electric karts, a heads up:

K1 Speed “karts” are made by OTL and have rear limited slip differentials (LSDs.) They don’t have a solid rear axle with the rear wheels connected to each other, which makes them behave less like race karts and more like little race cars.

I assume the same could be applied to other facilities that also run OTL Storm “karts.” Many times I’ve wondered how useful indoor karting at K1 Speed is as a training tool, but it does keep you from being bored to death during winter time.

1 Like

Interesting point Andre, I didn’t know that!