Vinyl Wrap and Stickers

I’m looking for to purchase a vinyl sticker wrap in roll or something similar to make my own stickers. I want to have a custom patterned background that can be used as a base on kart body panels, trailer, or what ever I think of to numbers and manufacture stickers on top of. Just wondering what brands or shops others have worked with and had good results.

Ok, got a sample of VVivid vinyl wrap, and I can not get it to stick the plastic bumper and side pods. What does everyone else use? Or am I doing it wrong? I’m not in love with any other factory’s or companies livery, and getting custom decals is also expensive. I was looking at vinyl wrap to be cheaper and a more complete color change than the decal packages for sale.

Has anyone else had luck with vinyl wrap?

@tjkoyen might have some ideas when he gets back after the weekend.

1 Like

I’m not a huge expert on the actual material, I leave that up to my printer, but when I’m applying decals I always clean the plastic with brake cleaner first to get the oils and release agents off the bodywork. That usually helps it stick better.

Other than that, just make sure you’re getting something that’s high-adhesive, thick laminate, and good conformability. Thin material is going to get destroyed with any contact. Car wrap material is probably the best bet. Use plenty of heat when applying and make sure you’re stretching out any wrinkles.

1 Like

This is what I got to try. It is car wrap and it feel pretty thick.
https://vvividshop.com/collections/vvivid-premium/products/2017-vvivid-gloss-miami-teal

Do I need something like this to prep the surface? Or does brake clean work just as well?
https://www.amazon.com/VViViD-Professional-Cleaning-Chemical-Solutions/dp/B0151SAHT4

I’ll try prepping the surface next time. I tried starting on the nosecone, but I think I’ll move to the side pods since they are flatter. I’ve applied vinyl numbers and stickers before, but not an entire wrap.