What do I need to know before I start the engine on a new kart

I am about to mount my KA100 engine, sprocket, throttle cable, and battery onto my chassis for the first time. I have no individual karting experience, but solid mechanical ability. I took my engine apart and replaced the clutch sprocket because it was worn. Everything else looked good, did a carb gasket kit and cleaned everything so it looks basically new. (engine has 4 hours on it) My chassis arrives Monday, and I am a little bit nervous about making sure everything is right. I watched numerous videos about making sure the sprocket is aligned, mounting the engine, and those things. Is there anything I need to know before I crank it for the first time? Any lubrication besides the chain and clutch bearing? or anything I need to check beforehand that may hurt the engine or it’s components?

1 Like

Do you have premium gas and oil in the tank? Is the fuel all the way at the carburetor?

As much as we all like to hear it run, unless you will be heading to a track in the near future I would suggest waiting till you are ready to run it on a track. You redid the carb, and once you put fuel in it the diaphragm will degrade.

I assume you didn’t take your motor apart, just removed the clutch and carb. If you actually took the case apart I would be a little concerned. Otherwise, it’s fairly straightforward. Just remember everything is “live” the chain will drive the axle and everything is spinning. Make sure the chain is in line with the sprocket and driver and there is some play/deflection in the chain. Make sure everything is tight. A few things people sometimes overlook.
The motor mount to the chassis
The axle bearing set screws
Everything else should be tight but not Godzilla tight.