When (and How) to introduce braking

My son is 8 years old and is in his 1st season of 206 sports after 2 seasons of kid karts. Currently he only brakes when avoiding an accident. I have zero experience in racing outside of being a lifelong fan, so i feel I’ve reached my usefulness as his coach.

My question is: While it increase his laptime/overall speed/passing ability to drive harder into the corners and brake before entry vs just lifting and re accelerating?

Flllow Up Question: How do I teach this?

This is a video of his first race this year. Pardon the onscreen words. I’m attempting to make teaching videos for him to watch between races.

1 Like

Braking can be a scary thing to learn because it requires additional motor skills and dexterity as opposed to just coasting, and it can cause a spin if you are too hard on the brakes.

In a slower class like 206, it’s hurting him a bit but as he moves up to faster karts, obviously it’s going to become imperative to master it.

The best money I (my parents) ever spent in karting was getting me a day of driver coaching at Badger when I first moved up from Rookie where we worked specifically on braking almost the whole day. The “cone exercise” seems particularly effective at teaching braking.

Essentially, you take a cone and place it maybe 25 ft from the braking point for a given corner. Have your driver brake at the cone. As he comes around for the next lap, move it a little closer to the actual braking point. Keep having him brake at the cone as it moves closer to the corner until he’s on the brakes at the correct point, or PAST the correct point so he can feel what it’s like to go beyond the limit and have to brake extra hard.

Since you aren’t a racer yourself, it would probably be a good investment to get a coach who has some experience for an afternoon. That way he can help with the braking, as well as ironing out some of the racing line issues and anything else that pops up.