World Formula Carb settings

I’ve been racing World Formula for about 5 years now and I’ve always set the float height to spec 14mm, ran the 38 pilot, 93 or 96 main, and have played around with the clip on the needle a little bit. I’ve never had a problem and have always run up front but I’d like to start fine tuning a bit, competition is getting tight! I have the Briggs carb tuning manual and it gives baselines but could someone explain float height and what exactly raising and lowering it will do? My engine likes to bog if you hit the gas hard at +/- 3K I’ve tried going both ways with the pilot (richer seems better) then I tried 14.5 mm and 13.5mm float height (generally run 14mm) didn’t seem to change. The thing that’s confusing me most is that the bigger pilot helps but the leanest setting on the needle in the slide helps? Not sure what to try next?

With the carb upside down:
Raising the float lowers the fuel level in the bowl.
Lowering the float raises the fuel level in the bowl.
This take some inverse thinking as the carb is upside down.
This richens or leans the mixture across the whole range of throttle opening. Changing only 1 jet adjust the mixture mainly in that jets range.
The guide doesn’t really tell much and doesn’t give any ideas of how much float level increments change things, Fuels specific gravity and air density would be a factor as well.

Check float drop first
Try a bigger jump on float height
Fuel pump ??

1 Like

I haven’t checked the drop, I’ve actually never checked it. Fuel pump is brand new. I wish that the manual was a bit more specific. I would think my issue would be the pilot since it bogs for a second from idle and is fine after that but I’ve tried all 3 jets. It actually seems like I need something bigger than the 40 which’s the largest that comes with the kit. If I turn the idle up to 3,200 it acts fine?