4 Stroke to 2 Stroke - KA100

After completing my first Karting season starting in LO206 (5 races) and adding in World Formula (2 races) I’m finding myself wanting more speed.

I have chatted with some of the local Racers and they have said the tuning and maintenance isn’t that much more than the world formula. I do understand it will be more expensive with it needing rebuilds relatively often and of course race fuel.

Would like to hear things I should consider in making the move. Is the learning curve much steeper? I’m not an expert tuner so hoping for minimal tuning. Anyone regret making the move?

Ultimately I’ll still keep my 4 strokes and still race on occasion as those will be priority.

2 Likes

What’s the power of WF? Lo is like 9hp I think?

Seems like going from Honda gx270 to gx390 sorta. The extra 5hp is very significant but it doesn’t drive differently. I’m curious to see what folks say.

1 Like

Evan we have talked a little. But I have done my research. And have one whole test session on a 100cc. But I’m here to see what people say as well

2 Likes

One of the best guys I raced this year in KA jumped over to our class from 206 half way through the year and was immediately fast with very little test time. If you have the principals of karting down, my impression is the adaption should be very quick.

Setups are a little different, but you’ve got a 2-stroke OTK kart from RPG right? put the baseline setup in that thing, mount the KA and let it rip.

2 Likes

I apologize, I thought you were wondering about the switch from LO to WF.