Any tips regarding inputs or something else?

Hello there!

As the title says, do you guys have any tips regarding my inputs or something else related or not to the kart handling?

Oh… not a new set of tires.

Just for settling some more context, I’m a tall driver 184cm and me and the kart together weights 183kg as class rules demands.

So due to my arms length I hold the steering wheel slightly above the middle and and sometimes at the middle of it otherwise my elbow continually hits the engine leaving me with a lot of bruises lol.

Is this killing my performance in any way?

Well that’s it, thanks in advance!!!

It’s not necessarily due to your hand position specifically, but I would say you’re often making too harsh of steering inputs and upsetting the kart.

One exercise that I use with my drivers a lot is having them move their hands higher on the wheel. This reduces your leverage and makes it more difficult to make big aggressive inputs, smoothing out your driving.

3 Likes

I’ll definitely try this exercise in my next training session. Thanks!!

I’d offer that something seems amiss in the complex that occurs at around 10s in. There is a big lift and timing wise, it feels off. This seems to drop your minimum speed way down and the engine has to spool back up.

What track is it? I’d be curious to see some lines on vid.

The kart track is in Brazil. “Kartodromo Ayrton Senna”

A few more laps: https://gopro.com/v/lrZk5kG8QKOdl

Man you guys race each other hard in Brazil! I was looking at some rental races online to see that turn and haven’t found anything useful yet, mainly folks trying to murder each other in rental karts. Looks like a good track, though. I am guessing there’s some race series that come through here? There has got to be some footage from a fast driver.

It does seem like that quick chicane requires a whole bunch of speed reduction but I am wondering if there’s an earlier throttle on exit than I am seeing in these vids.

1 Like