Best LO206 Chassis?

Hey guys, I’m a total newb to legit club competition racing. I have ran rentals for years and loved it, so I’ve decided it’s finally time to buy my own kart. After much research I’ve decided the LO206 series is for me. I’m considering a VLR Emerald, does anyone know of any other strong competitors in the Midwest I should really be considering? Thanks guys.

There are a lot of good choices for the LO206 chassis. Some of it depends upon support of the chassis and even personal preference. The VLR is a good chassis for 206, my personal kart is the CompKart 4r with a Briggs 206 but it is also more than the VLR, you really can’t beat the VLR for entry price point and it has plenty of tuning options. The only thing you need to factor in on VLR Kart is it doesn’t come with caster/camber adjusters, heel stops, or an ergonomic steering wheel so when you add that those it brings it up to a closer price point of other chassis. Depending upon where you race some areas have a spec VLR class which is cool and let’s you focus more on just driving.

And your research is correct the 206 engine is the absolute best class to start in because it’ll allow you to learn what a kart is doing since you are not going as fast and the least expensive to race. There are a lot of us who have been involved in karting for a long time and we choose to race LO206.

1 Like

Every kart made today can be competitive. The only thing that really separates them, as @KartingConcepts pointed out, are the hardware and accessories packages that come “stock”.

Where are you located and what track will you be racing at @LO206Newbie?

1 Like