Careers that work with karting

So I’m looking around for a new job/career and it’s almost impossible to find anything that has a schedule that would work with karting. Weekends off, day shift, pays well enough to support it etc. What careers do you guys have? How did you land something that allows you to be able to race every weekend in the summer?

My day job is as a business consultant, and I’m fortunate to have flexibility on taking time off for races.

1 Like

Psychologist and work mainly in the schools, which equates to mon-fri 8-3pm, summers off (pretty much) so it doesn’t get much better than that (don’t even get me started on healthcare benefits and pension, I feel spoiled)

Downside?
Took me almost 10 years to be where I’m at (and I’m not fully done, though I am certified to be in schools… it’s weird how it works)

I have friends who have had good luck with being a mechanic in a small shop (lends to flexibility vs a dealership)

It would help to know what field you are coming from and what kinds of things you’d be interested in; age skill set, those kinds of things.

1 Like

I have a normal job with normal hours. I Have no idea where you are in life, but I have more free time in my late 40s than I did in my 30s. I was too broke to kart in my twenties and it wasn’t even on my radar till mid 40s. Just lapping a few times a year until I started racing full season in 2018.

Even then, my plan is Sunday races only and practice is done virtually. So basically 10 race days a year.

1 Like

Trophy Husband :grin:

Oh, we’re telling the truth? OK, I also work as a Technical Writer, which meets all of your requirements.

2 Likes

Nice! Thanks for the reply!!