Clutch question

I’ve been getting things sorted out for the season, and I have run into a question about the clutch on my kart. I bought the kart used, and I’ve never worked on one before, so this may be normal. I just do not know.
I got a new mount, and while I had the engine off, I did all the maintenance things. While cleaning the clutch, Noticed that there was some play, and after I replace the shoes, and lubed the roller bearing, and reassembled, it was still there. (Hilliard flame) The hub and everything is good. Fits well with no play, etc. But, the drum has a lot of play. This might not matter, since once the shoes bite, the drum will basically be supported by the hub and shoes. It just seems weird to me. Also, while taking it apart, I noticed that is did not have any of the spacer washers. One goes between the crankshaft collar, and the hub, and one goes between the grease trap and the hub according to Hilliard assembly instructions.

Here is the best vid I’ve found on clutch installation:

1 Like

That’s no problem, as long as all the stuff on the inside is in the correct order. Whoops, just reread ur post. You need to have all the spacers/washers, etc. that are in the Flame diagrams. The diagrams are all over the internet.

That is exactly how mine is put together. The video is also missing the two “spacer” washers. #2 and #6 in the diagram.

We had to remove both the #2 and #6 washers on my setup.

I have side to side sliding but not twisting that you show.

I’m new to karting but I don’t think you should have the twisting that you showed.

Just curious as to why you had to remove them?

Any chance that’s a bully conversion drum?

All Flame clutches will have some play like that when not engaged. Bully conversions are worse. As long as it’s all there, it’s fine.

1 Like

The instructions said that the clutch should overhang the engine shaft edge by 0.5mm and with the washers the overhang was greater than this. I think it was almost 1.5,mm.