Deepseat/Ribtect seats

Just did a full race weekend with my new deepseat. I can report that these seats work as intended. My recurring rib injury was totally unaffected by a weekend of driving and I feel as good as new, basically.
I think what really helps is that the seat comes a bit higher up on your torso and then sort of wraps around the front of your torso a bit. So, when you are pushed to the side by the force of turning, instead of your lower rib cage taking the force, it is distributed over a larger surface area.
In any case, if you have rib problems, try one.

5 Likes

Just ordered a Deepseat as well. I am new to karting and this is really my first attempt to run a full series at the club level. Last year my issues were mechanical inexperience; I spent a lot of time figuring out how to get my used kart setup to be reliable (I had brake and clutch issues). This year, I haven’t had any of those issues, but I keep injuring my ribs. Upgrading my rib protector has helped a bit, hoping this solves it. Will keep everyone posted.

Good luck! I hope it’s as helpful for you as it was for me.

I just ordered one as well.
Started having pain a couple events ago, took 3 weeks off before driving again and got a Bengio bumper in hopes that I would prevent anything from getting worse. After one session last weekend, the pain had returned. I have 3 weeks until the next race. Hopefully with the bengio and the deep seat (I’ll add padding too), I can run one event without being sore for a week.

I ordered a size 15.5
I’m 180lbs, and 15" width from armpit to armpit. Hopefully it fits!

I’m curious to see how you and Yousef get along with this. For me, it was a game changer.