First race filmed on the Gopro. Looking for some advice!

So it’s been 10 months since I last raced, and I’m still very new to this. Just looking for some advice. I started pretty far back in the final because of a crash in the prefinal that I got involved in. Also, my break had tons of play before it actually grabbed, so you might see me break but nothing happens.

Thanks!

That’s a neat track. The swooping downhill part must be fun.

What I noticed in the early part of race is that you seem a bit reactive in traffic. There’s a couple incidents, 1:25 and 2:ish Which make me think you are focused on what’s right in front of you and maybe not looking ahead enough. If that’s the case, look through traffic. Don’t dwell on the guys bumper, look ahead too. Your brain will remember where his bumper is and cover you while you keep your attention moving around.

It’s a really fun track. The shifters take that turn HARD. It’s pretty crazy. I’m not quite sure I get what you said. I saw the guy spin out, and I wasn’t sure if the guy in front was gonna hit them.

It looked to me like you didn’t see it coming into the 1:25 incident. The other one, it looked like you sorta followed the guy whose bumper you were on off into the barrier. Made me think you weren’t looking ahead enough.

Yeah I didn’t realize how close I was. I also locked up the brakes which didn’t help. At the second spot I did see the incident and the guy information of me went sideways so I thought he was gonna spin. Misjudgment I guess. Do my lines look good otherwise?

I’m not familiar with the track but as the race progressed, it looks like your line got smoother. The couple mistakes were significant enough to put you in catch up mode, unfortunately. As you get closer to the others, you’ll pick up their lines as well… Looked pretty good to me, for getting the rust off.