Getting started in North Florida (Yulee/Jacksonville)

Where are you located?

Yulee (north of Jacksonville)

What age bracket are you in? Junior (<16), Senior (16+) or Masters (30+)

Masters

On a scale of 1-10, how would you rate your mechanical ability, or willingness to wrench on things?

9/10

Talk a little about your racing experience so far.

I have several years experience in a few open-wheel classes and in endurance racing. I’ve tried karting twice. They belonged to a teammate who used them for cross-training and I got the chance to try them.

What’s the main thing you need help with to get you started.

Deciding between LO206 and TaG X30, the logistics of kart racing and finding clubs/teams for newcomers. For the first time in my life I do not have a tow vehicle or one that could fit a kart inside the cabin, which means I need to find kart storage/transport or invest in a small pup trailer as well as a kart. If such a thing is possible, awesome.

The North Florida Kart Club is about 45 minutes away and I’ve watched a few races but didn’t really talk to anyone. I don’t know if there are clubs or teams that would welcome a newcomer to karting (not new to racing). I know the best thing I can do is learn from more experienced karters but I am a recent transplant to FL and don’t know anyone here, let alone in the karting community.

Thank you for any and all insights the group can lend.

Money and fitness. How’s your health and weight? If you are a sporty guy in good shape, 2-stroke is exciting (albeit expensive) fun. 4 is less fast, less acceleration, but a lot more cost efficient.

Finding a kart will be easy once we find you a team to talk to. Also, talking with the team people about your experience level and history will probably be helpful in assessing wether you should go to tag or not.

Transport: one thing you hadn’t considered is your team (should you choose to tent) can also do kart storage and hauling for you. Again, at a cost.

1 Like