Got my Books!

Got my books :books: ! Ready to learn! I’m a noob so I can’t wait to apply what I learn!

Best,

-jd

3 Likes

Noice! What ya starting with?

Hi @Bimodal_Rocket - I figured I’d start with Karting 101 - is that what you would suggest?

Best,

-jd

Yep. Terence’s book is for a bit further in.

1 Like

That’s awesome! Welcome to the sport.

1 Like

Thank you @KartingIsLife!

@LiveHappy welcome to karting! Looks like you’ve got a lot of reading there, let me know if you have questions!!

1 Like

@Eric_Gunderson1 - Thank you for reaching out - I started on 101 last night. Great read so far!

Live Happy!

-jd

1 Like

I’m thinking I should buy these!

1 Like

Best investment you’ll make honestly.

Hate to be “that guy” but there is no better investment than seat time. Nothing will beat hands on seat time. I bought some books earlier this year after being out of karting since i was 14 (now recently turned 30) and found them to be useless. What i learned as a kid was practice practice practice. The stop watch determines everything. I guess i was lucky as a kid to know more than i should but the books are nearly useless now, at least for what i read. Seat time wins all.

This is where I’d put a meme of the kid that says “why not both”

Seat time is only useful if you are improving. Turning lap after lap is only helpful up to a point.
Reading\leaning is only useful if you put it into practice and observe the results.

It’s the combination of the two that moves the needle. I think it’s a little different as a kid vs an adult too. But more than anything, people learn differently.

2 Likes

Conversely, seat time is useless if you’re only practicing bad habits.

You probably had a good base from racing when you were younger, so you understood some fundamentals that a true “newb” wouldn’t have.

3 Likes