Kart brake difference in feel and modulation

I am fairly new to karting about year and half into my foray…

So I am having hard time adjusting to feel of brakes on my kart (Swiss Hutless). They basically feel like a switch. They are super powerful but have almost no travel. I struggle at getting proper feel and modulation with such short travel after spending 25 years driving road car. I tried a few adjustment to cable slack, pedal position, fulcrum of pivot makes almost no difference.
The brake are described as a zero tolerance brake buy the vendor and by design have extreme short travel with floating rotor. The gap to pads and rotor is very small and floating rotor knocks back pad to limit drag.

I spoke to several different racers and gotten mixed and 100% different opinion on the brake system. Some guys say just deal with it other state they could not adapt and see this as compound issue for new karter.

They obviously work because some guy are absolutely killing it with this setup. I also let a local super fast junior driver use my kart and he was killing it on lap two so it works and more likely I am issue.

I fully rebuilt system and was thinking of changing to smaller master cylinder but not really much options. I would need something like a 17mm master cylinder as currently have 18mm +/- bore. I done this on road car setup when doing brake swaps to change brake pedal feel. I have access to fab mounting hardware so that not issue. Semi custom setup not a problem.

This all being said what kart brake setup or manufacturer offer brakes with maximum feel and modulation for an 40 something old fart.

I had a few bad race weekends and was ready to throw the kart off nearest bridge. But overall balance of kart is pretty good and easy to drive I just struggle to adapt to brakes.

1 Like

Braking feel is something that you can adjust pretty significantly.