Kart stand?

Just wondering about a kart stand. I’m new to this. I planned on leaving my kart on its trailer, ready to go. But also being into RC cars, where it’s not a good idea to leave the cars sitting on their tires, I’m wondering if that is not a good idea? I know RC tires are not true pneumatic like kart tires, but it just got me to thinking. What would be a good lightweight kart stand if I needed one? (Trying to keep trailer weight low as possible)

A basic scissor stand is pretty lightweight, I transport my son’s kart on the stand, some guys put the kart on the floor and strap the stand to the wall.

A kart stand is something you’re going to want. Nothing to do with sitting on the tires, but a kart is almost impossible to work on when it’s on the ground. Plus it’s a literal pain in the back to push the thing around the grid or paddock all day without it being on the stand. When you go to the track, you’ll notice everyone has their kart on a stand. It’s basically a required tool.

99% of people will find a basic scissor stand like Jim posted to be perfect for whatever you need. That’s sort of the standard. And they can be found cheap used.

Also, @Jim_Johnstone I would be careful of transporting on the scissor stand. Over time on the road, scissor stands could bend or buckle, or the stops could break off if the kart is bouncing up and down on that all the time. If you want to transport on the stand, some people get a 2x4 and notch both ends and stick it between the cross members of the stand to keep it from collapsing.

2 Likes

Interesting seat position :sweat_smile:

2 Likes

Thanks for the tip, I’ve added a brace to it since then, and am having a new stand built to my specs.

So if wheels aren’t that good of an idea for a folding stand, would this work?
https://www.amazon.com/ATD-Tools-7811-Work-Stand/dp/B000Q8Z6QO/ref=sr_1_15?dchild=1&keywords=racing+go+kart+stand+with+wheels&qid=1627052723&sr=8-15