LO206 oil level

I’m changing the engine mount on my LO206 from 15 degrees to 7 degrees.
The question I have is what oil level change should I make?

1 Like

Have you been measuring the amount you put in, or eyeballing against the drain plug threads?

If you’re measuring, 14oz should be sufficient with either mount angle. Some use more, some use less.

1 Like

14 is what we use no matter the mount angle.

1 Like

I’ve been using 15 Oz on a 15 degree…

Why 14 ounces if B&S recommends 13?

I’m just getting started, so I’m curious why there’s a difference.

Thanks.

For anyone else looking at this in the future, I just found this in the B&S 206 manual that states “…ONLY 14 ounces…”:

I think Briggs knows less about their engines than the builders and experienced racers do. :wink:

If I’m running 4T, I’m running 16oz because that’s half a bottle. Running 14oz means you have a bottle sitting with 4oz in it after your second change.

(I don’t run 4T.)

1 Like

I run 14oz, too because I read the same.

I’m not sure I’d go that far, have to keep in mind their recommendations are based on reliability.

Engines blowing up is not a good image, if they recommend an oil and quantity, when someone deviates from it, they can (quite rightly in many cases) say that it was an oil/maintenance issue vs an engine one.

1 Like

I run 425ml in mine :wink:

1 Like

I was told by my engine guy to run 16oz as well and to ignore Brigg’s “official” recommendation of 13oz.

So what do you run then?

:zipper_mouth_face:

I can’t tell everyone everything. :grin:

It’s gotta be olive oil then. That’s what the pros run. Changed after every heat.

Drizzled on steak is good. (Olive, not engine oil. To be clear).

i run about 13 oz. my measuring device only has hash marks at 12 oz and 16 oz, so i have to eyeball what i think is 13 oz. i don’t mind having that extra 6 oz in the bottle, just goes in on the next oil change.

1 Like