New guy here, just saying hello! (late bloomer)

Hey everyone,

I figured I would finally make myself an account since I seem to always come lurking here for information. The name is Jacob, 28, engineer with Toyota, and I bought my first kart (a 2019 Birel AM29) back in April and have been racing with the OVKA this year in the 206 Senior class. Its been a blast so far.

I’m new to karting, but kind of not new to motorsports or turning wrenches. I grew up a car guy, done the whole track day thing and autocross, but I kind of found out the hard way that being any sort of competitive in a car is very expensive. I also grew up in central KY where there are no kart tracks around other than dirt oval stuff so I never knew this existed! Which is why I’m late to the party.

Anyways, I’m looking forward to chatting with everyone and hopefully I’ll see you all on the track!

(the other toy if ya’ll are into this kind of thing)

14 Likes

Awesome, welcome! I also caught the karting bug after doing a little bit of car driving. All of the plans I had for my car budget have now gone into me and my sons’ karting budget :sweat_smile: :man_shrugging:t4:

3 Likes

AE86 I am guessing? Looks caged?

2 Likes

Hell yeah, nice picture! Lol

2 Likes

Who let this guy in? You have been doing great for your first season. Just have to keep the rubber side down now.

2 Likes

Welcome, good looking 86

1 Like

Loooove the 86. I just bought some wheels for my Fiat that came off an 86 in Japan.

1 Like

AE86 I am guessing? Looks caged?

Yes sir! No cage though. I actually had a 2nd one with a cage and all that stuff but I sold it to a buddy of mine to get into karting haha

1 Like

I just bought some wheels for my Fiat that came off an 86 in Japan

Work Equip 03’s on a Fiat?! Thats sick!

1 Like

@Tylercurley35

Hell yeah, nice picture! Lol

Threw that pic in there just for you Lol.

@Easy22

Just have to keep the rubber side down now.