Painting A Helmet For My Son

Well I just started on another helmet paint job. Don’t want to bore people with this stuff but it’s very exciting for me. I’m doing this one for my 29 year old son and it’s the first one that I am painting that I am not creating the design myself. It is hard to picture what is in someone else’s head just from them describing it! I told my boy to look at other helmets for inspiration and he loves Lewis Hamiltons designs. So I came up with a couple of ideas based off of that and he seems excited at my vision. The white part on the chin bar in the sketch will actually be black. I’m not an artist so I can’t draw out exactly what’s in my head so I did a rough layout with tape for Ian to get a better idea and he seems to be ok with it. He really only wants two main colors (purple and black) with silver pinstripes and logo’s. Personally I would have a contrasting color as well maybe a lime green but he is not interested :man_shrugging: So it will be mostly like my sketch with the local 47 logo (hand with lightening bolts) right on the top of the helmet. His race number 98 on the back and his name along the sides somewhere. I plan on doing a fair bit of shading on this one too.
Hopefully it will all become clear as I get started on it:)

7 Likes

That’s gonna look great!

2 Likes

So not much progress but I did label everything for reference when I do the final taping. I’m sure TJ is scratching his head at my method :laughing:. He already told me how he does it but I’m a slow learner :grinning: Where you see the orange tape will all be white pinstripes with hotrod sparkle silver over it.

2 Likes

Taking shape nicely. Gonna be another good one methinks.

Outta curiousity… I am assuming that the process of doing helmet paints is a slow and deliberate process. One that involves many steps and pauses, stages. It’s very careful design.