Painting Another Helmet (Finished)

Don’t know if this is of interest to anyone but I’m about to paint another helmet and will post up pics as it progresses. I am only an amateur and do this for fun I am also not an artist so keep that in mind :grin: This will be the fourth helmet that I’ve painted. I am painting it for my son in law for when we go out for family practice days with my two Rotax max Top Karts. I usually have an idea in my head of what I want then just start roughly laying out tape on the actual helmet until it looks close to what I want (in the pics), then I take photo’s of that to use when I do the actual taping for paint. I will also attempt to draw it out at this stage so that I can see which color goes where. Hardest thing for me is determining which colors or areas to do first, it’s hard to get you head around the order in which to paint!

These motorcycle type helmets are a pain with all of the different contours and vents to deal with. Any input is appreciated :slightly_smiling_face:

7 Likes

This is very interesting! I shall enjoy watching it take shape.

1 Like

Good on ya John. So you tape it out and then pull all the tape off and then tape it again? Why not just tear the helmet down and prep it and then just tape on the prepped helmet?

Also is that finish rubberized or traditional matte? Or have we discussed this before in PM?

1 Like

You are probably right I should just do the base coat which I usually do white then tape it! I just don’t always have a clear idea in my head until I start taping!

The finish is matte black, tomorrow I will sand it ready for the base.

1 Like

I did the color layout today, although some of the proportions aren’t exactly right it helps me understand better what sequence to do the various sections. There will be a random pattern in the metallic blue areas.

5 Likes

Do the plastic vent pieces on top of helmet pop out?

No they are glued in unfortunately.

Masked and base done. Now for the fun stuff!