Saw this on Facebook LO206 Cam Twisting

https://www.facebook.com/krybabyperformance/posts/pfbid0m1SRaeyVZfyrSR2mZVdUQP1HH5n7wpV1DWxQZYc1o7gtVv7uhiWkAh8zXXncjmQ9l

Since I am totally new to karting, I was wondering, is this really a thing? Do the engine builders really do this, and it is just kind of a secret thing?

This stuff comes up about every 3-4 years. It is very detrimental to the sport and is always driven by some frustrated individual.

Here’s the truth. Are some people doing this? Yes, absolutely. How many? Less than 1% of karters/builders (maybe way less).

Here’s where it gets fun:

Is it successful? No. In every instance of cam twisting I have seen, the individual made the engine worse OR caused a camshaft failure.

The guy’s complaining about getting beat off the corner are the same guys with no roll speed on corner exit.

It snake oil. Get an engine builder you trust and go have fun!

9 Likes

It’s not a secret perse, it’s been a thing for nearly all 4cycle OHV engines in karting since inception.

The question is how much of a difference it makes and you’ll notice this information was missing from the post in any kind of empirical form. Just the usual barstool\paddock talk.

Thing about the 206 is that it was borne out of what they learned from the fatheads in terms of what the open market would do to engines. The 206 intentionally designed to address those kind of things. That doesn’t mean those things can’t be done, it means the package is designed in such a way that those changes have limited utility. The carb size and RPM limit for example were chosen for very specific reasons… to limit the effect that the old tricks might have.

I’ve never felt underpowered against anyone with my 100% legal stuff that I don’t maintain well. :man_shrugging:t2:

6 Likes

Can vouch for Burpos lack of maintenance

11 Likes