Should I trail brake?

I’m a KA driver considering a switch to LO206 this summer. My coach who I pay for lessons at my local track coaches me to threshold brake in a straight line, release the brake and hear the revs rise, and then roll through the corner. He coaches me not to trail brake. He says that trailing the brake into the apex binds up the chassis and doesn’t allow it to flex and lift the inside rear wheel. He also coaches me to push hard against the chassis with my hands on the steering wheel (elbows locked, arms straight) while braking.

I watch videos of Norberg advising trail braking and I watch Peter Windsor talking about the importance of trail braking in short corner driving in F1.

Should I be trail braking in KA? What about in LO206?

If you want me to pick a specific corner, then lets consider turns 1-2 at Orlando Kart Center (right handers at the end of the main straight if you’re running the track in normal clockwise direction).

I appreciate your advice and I’m excited to practice improving my braking, as I see this as the biggest delta between myself and faster drivers I’m competing against.

Your coach is correct, most likely. Depends on how advanced you are, really. There are times where trail makes sense but it’s kind of rare in karts and requires a pretty advanced level of braking to begin with, to execute properly.

The likelihood is that you’d just be extending your braking zones for no good reason and being down on revs/late throttle to boot.

I don’t race lo206 but I’d be super surprised if any of them on here would advise trail. Tiny mistakes have huge down the track consequences and braking is de-minimis to begin with.

I’ve only driven OKC a few times but I don’t think that’s a Trail corner from what I recall/can imagine in my mind.