Simple laptimer and data logger

I’ve been invited to take part on a number of amateur races next year. These will be team events with rented karts (Honda GX 390cc). I have no experience with 4-stroke karts but I’m sure they won’t compare to the CRG I had to sell years ago, when adulthood (and career) kicked in.

This said, I still want to win. Thus, I’d like to have a simple display, laptimer and data logger for these races. These are my requirements:

1. GPS-based standalone device without any wiring,
  2. live display of previous lap time and best lap time at the steering wheel, and
  3. post-race analytics including positioning coordinates, speed and acceleration.

Taking the above into account, what devices would you recommend? I am currently eyeing the AiM Solo 2 and the Alfano ADS GPS but I have no hands-on experience with either. Would it be easy to install either of them on a different steering wheel every other weekend? AiM does mention that the box includes a mounting bracket with screws, so I wonder how complicated the installation is. Could there be compatibility issues?

As far as I understand, AiM’s software for post-race analytics is better than Alfano’s. In addition, AiM devices connect via WiFi, which I find vastly superior to bluetooth. Does Alfano ADS GPS have any advantage over AiM Solo 2 apart from the price?

Thanks for your input.

Why not just run the Mychron5? It has all of the features that you’re looking for an is specific designed for karting.

https://www.aim-sportline.com/en/products/mychron5/index.htm

Otherwise, you’re just making yourself work way harder than need be for a dash unit.
Besides, Kartpulse did a 24 video series with AIM on how to use Race Studio.

Think hes looking for something portable that can be switched between rental karts easily.

Almost sounds like he just wants the benefits of a transponder only (timing).

Oh I totally missed that part.
Do the Solos do G-measurements or just laptime?