Suspicious X30 tryton carb behaviour/settings

Hi

So I have X30, fully rebuilt engine and tryton carb. Last sunday I was breaking in the engine with L jet settings of 1:10 and H 1:30. I started to push a little too early and it seized, this was that I thought was the root cause. So new honing, new piston next size in and to the track again yesterday. This time I opened the H more 1:45 to be sure I have enough cooling and lubrication. This time everything went well, I’m new to tryton and X30 so I’m a bit worried as it seems like I can open the H to over 2 TO and still it will not “4-stroke” on straigths and exhasut temp will anyway be in the 600C range. I get really bad drive in the range 8-11K rpm with the H 2TO but at higher rpms it pulls well to 14 (didnt try more yesterday because of my suspicion).

So my question to you that are used to x30 and tryton carb.

1. should I even be able to run the engine on straights with the H jet 2 TO?
  2. in what rpm ranges shoud I see most effect from L vs. H screw
  3. should the x30 engine “4-stroke” heavily on a long straight with H 2 TO?
  4. seems like I could have some odd restrictoin on the fuel side as opening of the L and H jet only have effect under say 11K, over that it anyways runs fine (leans out) anyway. (lack fuel althoug 2TO H jet)

All gaskets are new, reeds, carb membranes etc. popoff is 0,85bars (12psi?).

Maybe I’m just afraid to seize it again :slight_smile:

Thanks in advance.

/André

My advise, get the jetting for IAME app.

You set you atmospheric data direct from local weather station automatically, tell it which carb and type of track, it tells you exactly where to set your H/L

1:30 seems very high and rich for Tryton. Ballpark they should both be around 1. I set my app for Tryton carb just to show you the difference - previous post it’s set to Tillotsen

hi.