Tire Changing Struggle Bus

I am new to karting and changing tires has been a massive struggle for me. I have a bead breaker, tire plyers, which work well and good, but that leaves me with the rim half out of the tire and I am unable to get the rim out. I have resorted to tire grease and a heat gun, which helped get the rears out but I haven’t had any luck. If anyone has any advice that would be greatly appreciated!

Speaking as a 130 lb weakling who also struggles with mounting and dismounting tires, it’s all in the technique (and it helps to have some weight behind your pushing and pulling).

Fold the tire in and crush it down on the part nearest to you. Kneel on that part of the tire. Then use one hand to hold the tire down on the opposite side. Use your other hand to pull up on the rim. Lube helps. Can’t over-lube when it comes to tires.

1 Like

Yes all that above.

If you have a Tire Pryor, the scissors type, you should be able to insert the nose of the Pryor in the wheel and use the tire as a fulcrum and pop the wheel out. It’s too hard to explain here’s a link to a video. Kart Tire Mounting Tool - YouTube

Also, the Pryor has a sharp leading edge that might cut up the tire’s inner bead while dismounting. You might want to chamfer or slightly round the edges and use lots of lube.

You might have a hard time putting the new tire on the wheel. Always, insert the wheel or tire over the inner bead of the wheel. The inner bead is slightly smaller diameter than the outer bead. I’m sure there is tutorial on Youtube.

1 Like

Don’t worry, a lot of us struggle with this at first! This video helped me a lot: Tire Changing for Dummies - YouTube

2 Likes