Tire Pressure Help. MG Reds at GoPro Motorplex

2020 Margay Ignite K3

Tire pressure

Im an extreme newbie and I’ve been seeing alot of different info on tire pressure and its alot to take in. Is there anybody on here that races at GoPro Motorplex on the MG Red tires? Im gonna be racing in the LO206 Heavy class.

Generally we stay in the 10-13 psi cold pressure range on Reds, though someone with specific 206 insight might be able to chime in.

I run x30s at GoPro and it depends on the weather. We usually take readings on the tires as soon as we come off the track. At the end of a 10-14 lap run we want the pressures around 12-13psi. Generally on a warmer day we start with about 9.5psi and it’ll get there, but with lower pressures your kart is going to be more likely to wheel hop. If you’re there this weekend start around 10 and check pressures when you come off track to see where they are.

Do they run Reds in X30 at GoPro?

Josh’s information seems spot on MG’s recommendation for tire pressure hot and cold. I put this cheat sheet together for myself for the brands I could find it on. Hopefully you find it useful.

I put all of my tire pressure quick tips here in this article on ‘How To Set Tire Pressure

2 Likes

Looking back my notes from the USPKS race at GoPro and we ran 10.5 psi cold for the finals on Reds.

Odd that MG recommends the same pressures for Yellows and Reds. We always run Yellows 2 psi or so lower than Reds.

1 Like

If I’m not mistaken, Jerry had juniors on reds at the same pressures as the adults on whites (lecont).

We ran cold 10-11 usually, which appears different.

I thought so too but I have never run Red so no experience. Interestingly, Evinco shows different cold pressures between Blue (11-13 psi) and Red (8-10 psi) so maybe this was an oversight. I will check with MG USA for verification.