Vega red (VLH) tires

I am going to a track that runs the Vega reds for 206 and I have no experience with them, plus its a night race. Looking for some input on pressures or any other insights would be welcome.

1 Like

I just experienced these tires so I went looking for the pressures I found online…

This infinite loop seems to happen a lot for me…

So anyway, from Vega themselves to start, and others can chime in with personal experience Vega USA - VAH Red

1 Like

They’re a grippy tire with a soft squatty shoulder that like low pressure when it’s hot. I have no night experience with them, but we typically don’t change pressures much between night and day with any tire we normally run.

1 Like

We’ve typically ran 9-13 depending on chassis, class and weather.

1 Like

10-15 for a grippy track or warm conditions. 15-25 for a low grip track or very cool conditions. New tires have a lot of grip off the bat so drop pressures a bit. You can take a lot of front grip out and make sure your kart is free.

1 Like

We run Vega reds here in Jacksonville Florida. I think our next race is a night race as well. During the day we run like 10 psi and slowly go up in pressure when temp drops throughout the day.

1 Like

i thought they mounted easy.

Our track went to Vegas this year after using MG’s for the last few years. My experience so far has been that around 10psi during the day is pretty close. We’ve not run them in cool conditions yet, so I can’t really comment on that.

The two main things I’ve noticed is that they seem more sensitive to pressure changes than the MG’s and they are grippy as hell on the first lap. No real warmup needed.
I’ve fought an overgripped situation all year with them. This is on a 28mm chassis iKart. It loved the MG Reds, but I’ve fought the Vegas so far.

1 Like

Thanks all for the input.

Several commented to run more pressure when cool, does more pressure equal more traction / grip or is there another reason to raise the pressure?