When did you decide to change up? (Lo206 to 2 stroke)

So I’ve been running LO206 for 18 months, but last year I was able to acquire a blue printed X-30 for a stupid price, so I’ve been holding onto it for a year or so.

Been flirting with the idea of making that transition from LO206, which I really enjoy, to X-30 as running LO206 requires alot of travel to find big fields, whereas my local has a huge X-30 field.

When did you move up and what factors were at play?

Move up when you get tired of going slow with no power. :wink:

2 Likes

I think you can “move up” given you have done a lot of races and have enough experience to be able to recognize the differences and not over-drive for six months whilst you figure it out.

I moved down, which was interesting. X30 to rental racing which was an education (in a good way).

I think what lower power teaches us is how to roll momentum properly. If you feel like you got that bit well, go do it in x30 next.

The fact that your local field is bigger/more accessible in x30 sounds like a no-brainer. Do it.

2 Likes

Honestly I’ve gone all the way “up” to 250 super karts and still enjoy driving a 206.

I would say make the decision based on “budget and ballache” vs a proverbial perceived path of moving up.

The faster classes up the commitment level on your wallet, time and body. Which is why I stopped racing shifters. You can’t just hop in and go (at least I couldn’t) it demands more of you. Whereas 206 I would be in ballpark in few laps.

Gotta do what works for you baring in mind your resources.

3 Likes

This is a good point. What ultimately led me to quit x30 was the expense. It made me feel somewhat stressed and I recall the disastrous stars NJMP weekend were it all went tits up.

I was like “wtf am I doing here?”. I just threw a race because I did not want to be out there, burning through another grand with morons on the track, who were causing chaos and injuries (and a fist fight).