Rpm & Fuel Issues (New Guy)

Just recently getting into karting with a 206. I have some previous experience in racing but non with a carb. I just bought a brand new engine and am having an issue with rpm on long straights.

I broke the engine in and set the valve lash to 0.02" for both intake and exhaust. My carb tune itself hasn’t had much development (1 1/2 turn out on mix screw + 2nd notch from bottom on needle). Float set to ~0.85" drop set to ~1.045".

The kart seems responsive at low rpm but if I give it full throttle for more than a few seconds I begin to see my rpm drop. It peaks at about 5k-5.1k and continues to drop the longer I stay on the throttle.

My initial thought was I set my valve lash wrong or I have a clogged main jet. I took off the carb, cleaned it and reconfirmed my valve lash settings but no luck.

Any thoughts on what could be the problem? Like I said I’m still new to the magic of carb tuning and would appreciate any pointers!

Have you checked the inlet needle that’s operated by the float? Give it a good clean, even though it’s a relatively new part.

Check the fuel line from tank pickup to carb for air leaks. Also check the fuel pump pulse line for leaks or severe oil contamination.

Has it had this issue from new?

Hey James, yea this issue has pretty much been from new. I’ll give what you suggested a try and let you know

While it sounds like motor, I would also look at the kart, its possible something is moving and causing resistance. The axle could be shifting and rubbing against the brake pad and also binding the chain. Make sure you are not pressing against the brake pedal accidentally. Are bearings spinning free? Are you possibly way overgeared? Just look to eliminate other possibilities too.

1 Like

Change your plug yet?

I just fought an engine for two days with what felt and sounded like a fuel issue and it ended up being the brand new plug Briggs sent in the engine…

1 Like

Fresh 87E10 gasoline every day will help.